Posted in Uncategorized

My First Impressions of South Africa.

“It’s more affordable than I anticipated.” Great news for college students going on a short-term study abroad trip!

The Shooting Star

In late April, I left the pristine wilderness of Spreewald in Germany, and arrived on the world’s wilder side – South Africa. Even before I stepped out of the airport, a local, seeing my sleep-deprived self looking for an ATM, offered to buy me coffee! Dramatic mountains shrouded in mist greeted me as we drove into the Rainbow nation.

Over two weeks, I’ve travelled with a group of international and South African travel bloggers, on invitation from the South African Tourism Board, eager to discover a gorgeous yet complex country. These are my first impressions:

South Africans are open-minded and so much fun!

south africa people, south africa culture Hanging out with the kids at Matjiesfontein, with a full moon rising behind.

For a country where apartheid was officially abolished only in 1991, I was cautious of treading the fine line between being sensitive and learning about the way life has evolved. I soon realized I was being too…

View original post 726 more words

Leave a Reply

